Cinque Terre

Cinque Terre is a rugged stretch of cliffs within the Eastern Ligurian Riviera, where land and sea merge to form a unique and very impressive piece of land. Considered one of the main tourist attractions of the region and throughout Italy, Cinque Terre are the most fascinating, natural and charming part of the Ligurian and the Northern Tuscany coast. This beautiful area is part of a National Park, established in 1999 to protect and preserve the landscape, and in 1997, together with Portovenere and the islands of Palmaria, Tino and Tinetto, was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Cinque Terre attract many tourists, from Italy and abroad, fascinated by the wonderful and incomparable natural beauty. Altough the territory is rich of beautiful bays and beaches, Cinque Terre are famous not only for the sea: beautiful medieval villages and scenic trails offer magnificent walkable paths to be explored.

The territory of the Cinque Terre, located in the province of La Spezia, owes its name to the five beautiful villages that occupy the area: Corniglia, ancient Roman village which produces the most famous wine of Liguria and the only Cinque Terre country that does not face directly the sea; Manarola, a scenic village where the houses built on a large rock overlooking the sea, seem like natural extensions of the cliffs; Monterosso al Mare, a charming seaside village, loved by the poet Eugenio Montale, which still maintains its long tradition of fishermen; Riomaggiore, an colourful village which was originally built in the thirteenth century, and that seems like a Nativity scene with all its houses built in vertical; and Vernazza, typical medieval village considered one of the most beautiful in Italy.